Don’t Quit Your Day Job

I didn’t. Instead, I got laid off today. I’m sharing it here because a few weeks or months from now I want to return and see in print exactly how I felt this day…surprisingly, pretty darn good!

Yes, there was shock. Being in a room with five others experiencing the same thing. My mind distanced itself from my body a bit and went into auto-pilot.  It became difficult to write my information or hear what the outplacement guy was saying. My body just wanted to stay still and recover.

After that — I felt free. My body recovered, my mind linked back and I started to feel almost–exhuberant.  My mind was planning, checklisting…thinking, even as I packed my stuff and talked with the operations manager and my supervisor. No awkwardness whatsoever.  It also seemed that each person involved was doing their part in a caring, thoughtful way.  The only jarring note was the HR Director, who is always on-site during layoffs, was linked in by phone due to some plane issues (Icelandic volcano-caused, I think).

In the coming week, I’ll be updating my LinkedIn profile and requesting the recommendations my managers offered (while the memory and the guilt of laying me off are still fresh). I may do a Youtube elevator pitch or introduction.  I’ll contact the outplacement firm and begin to update my resume. I already called my former life coach and asked her to work with me again for 3 months. And I have a spot reserved in an upcoming small 6-week peer support group of career changes/job seekers called Success Teams.

I will also be grieving the loss of the physical act of going to work and working with the wacky, strange and wonderful guys on my team.  After almost 11 years of working for this company, I know I need to find or create a new structure, fast. It helps that I have a fast approaching deadline and an article to write.  Check out my latest on www.Curlstylist.com — I interviewed  three rockstars of the curly world on curl highlighting techniques — Christo, creator of the Curlisto haircare line, Denis Da Silva of Devachan, and Antonio Gonzales, master stylist at Orlando Pita Salon and a blogger and columnist for www.Curlstylist.com.

I got laid off, but I feel like life is good. I feel taken care of.  It feels like God cleared the decks, gave me a soft landing and created a safe, open space for me to do…what? Follow him, and create whatever he tells me to.

9 Comments

  1. Oh I can’t believe I found you again; I’ve had gray hair since I was 12 and I’m about 98% gray so I can relate. I also have soft cottony 4-b hair and its at that medium length where no style looks good. My hair shrinks about 200% when wet. Lately I’ve been doing the two strand twist with rod roller just to loosen the curl some since I’ve not built up the trust to have anyone cut my hair and cut it all off again for the “nth” time. Anyway I can’t do bluing and I can’t do warm irons either; so I’ve been just cowashing with suave and for some reason the yellows don’t come back unless I’m out in the sun long; so I just wash a little more frequently.

    As far as your job; what kind of work are you looking for? put it out in the universe and check out twitjobs on twitter; as jobs come up in real time you can get a fast jump on them. If you think you want to know more about how online opportunities work with blogging check out a guy name YARO (google him) he is authentic and knows about blogging . I have other ideas; we’re about the same age so I can relate.

    wishing you the best. By the way I’m not an affiliate marketer for YARO but he comes highly recommended. One other person website which is good is 2planawebsite by lisa. Lisa is the bomb. Be careful there are so many internet marketing schemes out there; I’ve checked them out over the years and lost a lot ; so I don’t want you to do the same.
    Take care now. By the way I have a blurb about my gray hair transition on that gray hair website you mentioned. Let me know if you want to know more.

  2. I just happened upon your blog looking at another web site. I was admiring your hair and I came across this post. I too was let go but on April 19th 2010. I kinda had that whole out of body experience. I just couldn’t believe it was happening especially since we (hubby & I) were going to buy our 1st home in 2 days. I mourned the loss of my job and my house that week. Now a few moths have passed, still I’m out of work but I am much happier. I feel lighter.

    Isn’t funny how you think you have it all planned out a God tells you he’s got different plans for you?

    Thank you for sharing! Yolei

    • Yolei, I wish you and hubby and gone ahead with the sale. I know someone else who was laid off right before closing on her house. She went a head and closed, and got another job too! I hope you find the perfect house and job for you.

  3. It’s been a couple months since this post. I pray that you are well. God does have a way to prepare our landing. It is fabulous that in the darkest moments He gives us a sense of peace that only He can. Stay Blessed and Trusting!

  4. Great attitude for real and I know that God will bring some amazing job/experience your way. It's been 22 months since I've been out of a job and 18 months since I've been volunteering.I'm actively looking for work since Feb 10 and I can't believed I survived all these months without paid work. It's amazing! But sometimes I get down and blogging and my close friends and family have really helped me to see the positive in life.If you ever do get down, don't forget how amazing Life is and that your dream will be fulfilled around the corner.

  5. I agree, your attitude is admirable. It will certainly help you get through these times as unscathed as possible. May He keep you up and afloat.

  6. As someone who is awaiting for the ax to fall, I totally see how this would be a relief and a new start. I truly wish you all the best. (gemini from NC)

  7. You know, with these day and times, this is something I live in fear of every single day because I do not have my financial world in order. Bless you for having such an inspiring outlook. May God keep your life in His order & may you prosper!!

  8. You have such an awesome attitude about this! I know you must be going through a lot right now, but you will certainly look back on this day and rejoice. Bigger, Better, Higher things r coming your way – remain faithful! God Bless!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers