4th Anniversary Giveaway

It's a Celebration! And a Giveaway!

October marked my 4th year of being completely natural. Rather than talk about my hair, I want to  hear and celebrate your story. I’ll choose one to publish here and, if it is yours, you will receive a brand spanking new jar of Vigorol Curls Curling Creme (one of my top styling products and CG) and a generous sample of Karen’s Body Beautiful Juicy Beauty Bar.  So send me a story and help me celebrate!

Suggested topics:

  • What’s the most memorable moment in your hair journey?
  • What keeps you up at night about your natural curls and kinks?
  • What would give you total peace of mind?
  • What would you change about your hair?
  • What lessons have you learned and what is next for your hair?

E-mail to me at suburbanbushbabe@gmail.com and have fun with it. Deadline for submission is November 15th.

3 Comments

  1. In the 8th grade my mother (caucasian, I’m mixed) decided to buy a Just for Me super relaxer figuring since I had thick hair I would need a super epsecially since it was a kids relaxer. Well I am sure some of you can guess what happen. My APL hair was now about 3-4 inches long because it all broke off. That was the last relaxer I ever had.

    After that I discovered heat specifically the straightening comb you heat on the stove. Well after a few years my hair texture changed from 4a/4b to 3c/4a and I meet another mixed female whom saved my hair. She taught me how to straighten my hair using the curling iron and/or a flat iron so I no longer had to smell buring hair once a week. So I would flat iron in winter and sometimes get cornrows in the summer or just pull my curly mane back into ponytail.

    I didn’t really have a particular ah ha moment as some but I just slowly figured out how to style my own hair using gel, mouse etc but I knew so much product couldn’t be good for my hair but I had no other options. Eventually I got a system down that actually made me want to wear my natural hair down. I was shocked that for once my hair looked nice curly. So slowly I started to wear my hair curly more and more. Then looking at my daughters beautiful 3c/4a hair I thought to myself I need to accept my hair because she needs to know her hair is beautiful. That is when I decided I will no longer straighten my hair. That is when I researched online and found about this whole natural hair movement, which has helped me discover even better ways to take care of my curls.

  2. Hmm you know I pass this in the store all the time , Is it really that good??

    • I love it, and a little goes a long way. It’s very similar to Curl Junkie Coffee Coco Curl Cream on my hair. I was delighted to find it. It does have parabens and whatnot — Ingredients: water, cetrimonium chloride, cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, Polyquaternium-11, glycerin, aloe barbadensis, wheat amino acids, methyl paraben, propyl paraben, DMDM hydantoin, fragrance.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers